I want to be on my own but need to reboot too

Discussion in 'Ages 40+' started by schmadam, Aug 19, 2018.

Tags:
  1. schmadam

schmadam New Member

Hello all, newbie here but I’ve been aware of the PMO/rebooting community for a few years and I’m finally doing something about my own addiction after a difficult year.

It’s fascinating reading about everyone’s stories, struggles and successes and the support I've seen here is priceless. I’m trying to reboot (I like that word, it fits perfectly with what I feel I need) to bring back some of my lost mojo. I’ve PMOed most of my adult life – starting with magazines (Dad, did you really expect me not to find them under your bed?) and then progressing to the wonderland of fast internet. I don’t suppose I’m alone there.

I feel like I've lost track of the real me and I want him back.

Me #1:
    Until my late thirties all was well. I didn’t feel the need for a relationship. I have a busy work life, which accounts for a fair proportion of my social life too, I have good friends. Outside of that I didn’t feel the need to share my life, I was happy being single with PMO as my outlet. Overall I would describe that me as happy-go-lucky, humorous and socially capable.

Me #2:
    Around 6 years ago, maybe more, I started to get a constant and extreme brain fog. There were a few stressors in my life at the time and maybe, along with PMO, it all became a bit much. It crept up on me and I can’t say for sure how long I’ve had it. I had a panic attack in the supermarket, everything became a bit blurry and I started to be more socially anxious. It’s been that way ever since. Those other stressors have long gone but I’m still foggy, mostly I’d describe it as a superficial anxiety. Inside I have no worries, insecurities or issues, I can think clearly and logically and I perform well under sometimes great stress at work, but the fogginess brings me anxiety at times in public.

Me #3: